The Ballard of My Mind and My Heart

My mind resents my heart
Begrudges of the choices it makes
Frowns at the pain it inflicts on my being
My heart resents my mind
Offended by the delirious thoughts it harbours
Aggrieved by its power to dictate my thoughts
My mind resents my heart
Distressed at its sinful desires
And the torment it consistently serves me
My heart resents my mind
Envious at the connections it can compose
And the melodies it can arrange
My mind resents my heart
Ashamed of the places it leads me
Stricken with grief at the tears it causes my eyes
My heart resents my mind
Antagonised by its skills to comprehend
Perplex at its lack of emotion
My heart wants what it wants
My mind think what it thinks
This is the ballad of my mind and my heart
I do not know which melody to dance to
Leave a Reply

