Complex Flaws

I tried to compare you to a precious jewel
But your worth cannot be measured
I tried to describe your beauty
But I could not find words befitting
So pathetic I know
For I be a fool or a hapless romantic?
The lines are blurred
When cupid strikes his arrow
I do not know how to keep my composure
Overcome with excitement
I dream of all the possibilities
The good and the ugly
Overcome with anxiety
I do not know how to discipline myself
So I lose out every time
So pathetic I know
Am I just a wreckless poet
With too many words to express?
I tried to be like all the other boys
Treat him mean to keep him keen
I tried to be like all the other “players”
Apparently he was not like all the other boys
If only I had stayed true to myself
Then the boy would be mine
Leave a Reply

