Broken Promises

I promised I would be better
Than all the ones before me
But I was not patient
I promised I would never
Make him cry
But I was not loving
I promised I would wipe his tears
Whenever he was sad
But I was not understanding
I promised to be faithful
And remain true to only him
But I could not resit temptation
He promised to be my partner
And seek adventures with me
But he just bleed me dry
He promised to be honest
And never tell a lie
But he kept more secrets than a diary
He promised to be fair
And take responsibility
But he laid blame at my feet
He promised to be faithful
And stay true to only me
But he chased retribution
We promised to be the best for each other
In the end, all we had were
Broken promises
Leave a Reply

