This Thing They Call Love

For the longest time i have tried to
Make sense of this thing they call love
I do no not understand it
Who will be my teacher for
I have had no lessons about love
How to love, How to care
How to give one’s self to another
Completely and implicitly
They call it commitment
but i do not understand
Where is my teacher for
I have had no lessons about commitment
To allow you into that special place in my heart,
The place where I have reserved and made so sacred
Yet you disrespect and poke little holes into them
I do not understand
Where is my teacher for
I have had no lesson about trust
To taste your fear
To feel your fantasies
To touch your dreams
To see inside your brain
To know your soul
To understand your secrets
To recognise your touch unmistakably
Yet i cannot share mine with you
But i do not understand
Where is my teacher for
I have had no lessons about sharing
I have been so willing to
Lay my heart down and
let it be trampled upon so easily by
Boys who are not even my measure
I do not understand
Where is my teacher for
I have had no lessons about selfrespect
To not want another’s touch
To resist the charms of another
To see only you, to want only you
To desire only you, to need only you
I have failed in attempts plenty
But i do not understand
Where is my teacher for
I have had no lessons about temptations
I have tried to make sense of this thing they call love
But i not understand
Where is my teacher for
I have had no lessons about love
Leave a Reply

