My Father’s Seed

I am compelled to love you
Because you are my fathers seed
His blood flows through your veins
Like it does mine and my siblings
You are a reflection of my father
But I only recognise you as an imposter
I only recognise you as a thief
Who stole my crown in the light of day
And robbed me of my rightful place
Now I take the left hand side of my father
And my sister takes a step further to my father’s right
Where is the fairness in that?
Where were you when we ached for our father’s safety?
Where were you when we cried for our father’s mother?
Where were you when we cried for our father’s sister?
Where were you when we cried for our father’s brother?
Where were you when we grieved with our father for his losses?
Where were you when our father bathed in disappointment?
Where were you when our father’s heart was covered in bruises?
It was us who nursed him back to life
It was us who rekindle his love for life
It was us who un-blurred his vision
It was us who reminded him he had responsibilities
It was us who grieved with him
You are a reflection of my father
But I only recognise you as an imposter
I only recognise you as a thief
Who stole my crown in the light of day
And robbed me of my rightful place
At my father’s right hand
Yet I am compelled to love you
Because my father’s blood runs through your veins
Leave a Reply

