Objectified #1

Why do you treat me like I’m not real?
Why do you treat me like an object that
Can easily be discarded?
Why do you make me feel unimportant
If you have never tasted black before
That is not my problem
I am not a flavour to be sampled
Then discarded and worse of all become
The topic of conversation for you and your friends
I will most certainly not become that black guy,
I ache when I tire
I shiver when I’m cold
I feel pain when I am troubled
Just like you, I have desires too
But you don’t see me hunting them down
Like the animal I will be labelled with if I did
Do not objectify me, for it s most disrespectful
Leave a Reply

