My Life is My Very Own

Please sir, my life is my very own
I will follow the law, occasionally breaking some
I will respect your moral values
I’ll pay my taxes, not that I have a choice
But outside of this, please ma’am do not try
To tell me how to live my life, I will disrespect you
And dismiss you, for my life is my very own
We live in such a confusing and contradictory world
Be tough, but don’t be an ice queen
Wear make up, but no too much
Be gay, but not too camp
Be a lesbian but not too butch
Be proud but not too proud
Be sincere but not too sincere
Be a man but not too sensitive
Be a woman but not too strong
Be yourself but try and fit in
No sir, no ma’am, I’m sorry but I cannot live my
Life like this. Me, I believe in myself
I will always follow my dreams,
I trust and rely in my own decisions
So don’t tell me how to live my life
For my life is my very own
Leave a Reply

